On November 17, 2017, Materia Collective released Octorock: The Zelda Metal EP – a symphonic metal tribute to the iconic video games series The Legend of Zelda. This EP features arrangements from Ocarina of Time, Majora’s Mask, Wind Waker, and Skyward Sword by arranger and guitarist Joel Kent. Octorock recreates some of the most iconic tracks from the series and fuses it with a metal vibe, complete with incredible guitar riffs throughout.
“I’ve been a huge Zelda nerd for as long as I’ve been able to hold a controller,” reflects Kent, “And I still remember my first experience with the series: watching the full moon rise over Hyrule Field during the opening cinematic of Ocarina of Time. When I start up the game and hear those opening chords it still gives me chills and probably always will. Journeying through the various titles in the series to Koji Kondo’s melodies had as much an impression on me growing up as listening to my Dad’s classic rock albums.”
Octorock: The Zelda Metal EP is fully licensed and available now on Bandcamp, iTunes, and Spotify.

Here is the track list for Octorock: The Zelda Metal EP:

  1. The Lost Woods (Ocarina of Time)
  2. Dragon Roost Island (Wind Waker)
  3. Stone Tower (Majora’s Mask)
  4. Ballad of the Sky Goddess (Skyward Sword)
To learn more about Octorock: The Zelda Metal EP visit https://www.materiacollective.com/music/octorock-the-zelda-metal-ep.
Josh Rose
Basically a hobbit, Josh is always enjoying food and drink, and going on unexpected adventures. Beware if you see him without a cup of coffee: caffeination deprivation makes this boy go loco.

Leave a Reply