Book Review: A Court of Frost and Starlight

A Court of Frost and Starlight
By Sarah J Maas

Review by Stephanie Cooke

I try to steer clear of big fantasy series. For me, it’s usually too daunting to think about committing to reading several books to get the entire story. That said, the Court of Thorns and Roses series lured me in to the point where I simply HAD to have the next book. I was under the impression that Feyre and Rhysand’s story wouldn’t continue after A Court of Wings and Ruin. Maas has stated that she wanted to continue writing within this world but to tell different stories. So I was surprised when I read the synopsis for A Court of Frost and Starlight.

This novel revolves around Feyre and Rhysand and their delightful family and friends. It’s almost like A Court of Thorns and Roses: The Christmas Special. Velaris is in the process of being rebuilt, and everyone is just trying to get back to normal. Feyre and Rhysand settle into their lives together. Elain and Nesta adjust to being Made.

It lacks a proper conflict for the characters to resolve. Instead dealing with a lot of the survivor’s guilt and such that Feyre copes with after the war that came to a head in A Court of Wings and Ruin. However, the story doesn’t just continue from Feyre’s perspective. Rather we get glimpses at Rhysand, Cassian, Mor, Elain, and even Nesta as varying chapters give us insight into what’s going on with them.

A lot of the content is fan service for readers who have been pining for a happy ending to everything that came before. The books had a lot of heavy themes. The characters went through a LOT. It makes sense that Maas wanted to do something a little bit lighter that allowed her characters to just enjoy their lives without things being on the brink of destruction and ruin.

I don’t think I consumed A Court of Frost and Starlight quite the same way that I consumed the other books in the series. That’s not necessarily a bad thing. The stakes were high in what came before, and things were a lot more relaxed. It’s not a page-turner that will keep you up until late at night. More just a good leisurely read that features characters that we’ve come to love.

I’ve also come to love this series for its blatant smuttiness. I sometimes forget how steamy these books can be. I get into Maas’ rich world and wonderful characters when all of a sudden there’s these sex scenes that can make you blush. Maas leaves nothing to the imagination. She isn’t afraid to let her characters be sexual beings that explore every aspect of it.

It’s one of those books that makes me look around if I’m reading it in public like CAN PEOPLE SEE WHAT I’M READING?! And of course they can’t. They might have an idea if you start getting flustered and look hot and bothered all of a sudden…

ANYWAYS.

Verdict:
I thoroughly enjoy the works of Sarah J Maas. As I said, this one doesn’t have the same high stakes as what came before, but it was a lot of fun to just experience the characters in a sort of slice of life type tale.

You need the experience of reading the other books to enjoy this one properly, but for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses, the fan-service you’ll find here will definitely satisfy you.

Stephanie is a Toronto based writer and editor. She's a comic book fan, avid gamer, movie watcher, lover of music, and sarcasm. She is a purveyor of too many projects and has done work for Talking Comics, JoBlo.com, Agents of Geek, Word of the Nerd, C&G Magazine, Dork Shelf, and more.Her writing credits include "Home Sweet Huck" (Mark Millar's Millarworld Annual 2017), "Lungarella (Secret Loves of Geek Girls, 2016), "Behind Enemy Linens" (BLOCKED Anthology, 2017), "Home and Country" (Toronto Comics Anthology, 2017) and more to come. You can read more about her shenanigans over on her personal web site.

Stephanie Cooke

Stephanie is a Toronto based writer and editor. She's a comic book fan, avid gamer, movie watcher, lover of music, and sarcasm. She is a purveyor of too many projects and has done work for Talking Comics, JoBlo.com, Agents of Geek, Word of the Nerd, C&G Magazine, Dork Shelf, and more.Her writing credits include "Home Sweet Huck" (Mark Millar's Millarworld Annual 2017), "Lungarella (Secret Loves of Geek Girls, 2016), "Behind Enemy Linens" (BLOCKED Anthology, 2017), "Home and Country" (Toronto Comics Anthology, 2017) and more to come. You can read more about her shenanigans over on her personal web site.

Leave a Reply